Advent 2018 Update

As the end of the calendar year 2018 approaches, we want to share with you some of your leadership’s progress in acting on the priorities of the Christ Church Cathedral Strategic Plan, which lays out a bold vision for the future of the Cathedral. In late January 2019, there will be a more detailed account of this progress at the Annual Parish Meeting, with supporting information in the 2018 Annual Report. In the interim, the following summarizes key accomplishments this year:

  • The Vestry and Staff have been working to implement program changes and prepare for a Capital Campaign that will provide for additional facilities and renovations of the existing facilities, including the interview of local architectural firms to design the project.

  • The following members of our parish community have been appointed by the Vestry to lead the Capital Campaign for Christ Church Cathedral:

    • Mary and Charlie Cook, Honorary Chairs

    • Dona and Hal Johnson, Chairs

    • Rebecca Collins, Major Gifts Chair

    • Catherine & Shelton Clark and Monica & Thor Urness, Community Gifts Chairs

    • Jill Meese, Stewardship Liaison

    • Gracie and Win Bassett, Regional Gifts Chairs

    • Sam Bessey, Cabinet Volunteer 

We are very grateful to these individuals for not only accepting the invitation to lead the Capital Campaign but also for bolstering their commitment of time with a commitment of their treasure.

  • Work has begun to solicit early support from current and recent past parish leaders. We are pleased to report that 100% of Vestry members have made a personal commitment of financial support to the Capital Campaign.


Advent brings with it a new church year and a time of preparation for the coming joy of the Savior’s birth. This Advent, we are also preparing to enter a compelling season in the life of the Cathedral. Look for more news in January. In the meantime, please continue to pray that this work may give glory to God and provide for the ministry of Christ Church Cathedral for decades to come.

Timothy E. Kimbrough  Dean and Rector

Timothy E. Kimbrough
Dean and Rector

Roger Moore  Senior Warden

Roger Moore
Senior Warden

Caroline Rossini Junior Warden

Caroline Rossini
Junior Warden